Oscars 2018 Winners List: The Shape of Water wins Best Picture and Gary Oldman is named Best Actor

Gary Oldman won Best Actor at the 90th Academy Awards for his portrayal of Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour, one of the most expected of all the wins. In the Best

  • PublishedMarch 5, 2018

Gary Oldman won Best Actor at the 90th Academy Awards for his portrayal of Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour, one of the most expected of all the wins.

In the Best Actress category, the favourite Frances McDormand won for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

James Ivory, 89, became the oldest Oscar winner in history, taking home the Academy Award for Best Adapted Screenplay for Call My By Your Name, while Get Out triumphed in the Best Original Screenplay category.

Roger Deakins finally won the Best Cinematography (for Blade Runner 2049) Oscar at the 14th time of asking.

Earlier, Allison Janney won Best Support Actress for I, Tonya. Accepting the Oscar, she joked, “I did it all myself.”

Dunkirk, Christopher Nolan’s Second World War epic, has so far triumphed in three categories: Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing and Best Film Editing.

Sam Rockwell won Best Supporting Actor, staving off competition from Woody Harrelson, Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project), Woody Harrelson (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri), Richard Jenkins (The Shape of Water) and Christopher Plummer (All the Money in the World).

“You guys rock!” said Rockwell of his fellow nominees. He also thanked “everybody involved in Three Billboards and everyone who’s ever looked at a billboard”.

Elsewhere, Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick won the Oscar for Best Makeup and Hairstyling for The Darkest Hour. Mark Bridges, meanwhile, took home the statuette for Best Costume Design for Phantom Thread.

The fourth award of the night, presented by Greta Gerwig and Laura Dern, was handed to Icarus directors Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan for Best Documentary Feature.

The Shape of Water won for Best Production Design, while A Fantastic Woman triumphed in the Best Foreign Language category.

Best Picture

Call Me by Your Name
Darkest Hour
Get Out
Lady Bird
Phantom Thread
The Post
The Shape of Water – WINNER
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director

Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread
Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water – WINNER
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
Christopher Nolan, Dunkirk
Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – WINNER
Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
Meryl Streep, The Post

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Timothee Chalamet, Call Me By Your Name
Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread
Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour – WINNER
Denzel Washington, Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Mary J. Blige, Mudbound
Allison Janney, I, Tonya – WINNER
Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread
Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Octavia Spencer, The Shape of Water

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Woody Harrelson, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Richard Jenkins, The Shape of Water
Christopher Plummer, All the Money in the World
Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – WINNER

Best Animated Feature Film

The Boss Baby
The Breadwinner
Loving Vincent

Original Screenplay

The Big Sick (Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani)
Get Out (Jordan Peele) – WINNER
Lady Bird (Greta Gerwig)
The Shape of Water (Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Martin McDonagh)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Call Me By Your Name (James Ivory) – WINNER
The Disaster Artist (Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber)
Logan (Scott Frank, James Mangold, Michael Green)
Molly’s Game (Aaron Sorkin)
Mudbound (Dee Rees & Virgil Williams)

Best Foreign Language Film

A Fantastic Woman – WINNER
The Insult
On Body and Soul
The Square

Best Documentary Feature

Abacus: Small Enough to Jail
Faces Places
Icarus – WINNER
Last Men in Aleppo
Strong Island

 Best Original Song

“Mighty River” (Mudbound)
“The Mystery of Love” (Call Me by Your Name)
“Remember Me” (Coco) – WINNER
“Stand Up for Something” (Marshall)
“This Is Me” (The Greatest Showman)

Best Original Score

The Shape of Water (Alexandre Desplat) – WINNER
Dunkirk (Hans Zimmer)
Phantom Thread (Jonny Greenwood)
Star Wars: The Last Jedi (John Williams)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Carter Burwell)

Best Documentary Short Subject

Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405 – WINNER
Knife Skills
Traffic Stop

Best Production Design

Beauty and the Beast
Blade Runner 2049
Darkest Hour
The Shape of Water – WINNER

Best Cinematography

Blade Runner 2049 (Roger Deakins) – WINNER
Darkest Hour (Bruno Delbonnel)
Dunkirk (Hoyte van Hoytema)
Mudbound (Rachel Morrison)
The Shape of Water (Dan Laustsen)

Best Costume Design

Beauty and the Beast (Jacqueline Durran)
Darkest Hour (Jacqueline Durran)
Phantom Thread (Mark Bridges) – WINNER
The Shape of Water (Luis Sequeira)
Victoria & Abdul (Consolata Boyle)

Best Sound Editing

Baby Driver
Blade Runner 2049
Dunkirk – WINNER
The Shape of Water
Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Best Sound Mixing

Baby Driver
Blade Runner 2049
Dunkirk – WINNER
The Shape of Water
Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Best Film Editing

Baby Driver (Jonathan Amos & Paul Machliss)
Dunkirk (Lee Smith) – WINNER
I, Tonya (Tatiana S. Riegel)
The Shape of Water (Sidney Wolinsky)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Jon Gregory)

Best Animated Short Film

Dear Basketball – WINNER
Garden Party
Negative Space
Revolting Rhymes

Best Live Action Short Film

DeKalb Elementary
The Eleven O’Clock
My Nephew Emmett
The Silent Child – WINNER
Watu Wote/All of Us

Best Original Score

Dunkirk (Hans Zimmer)
Phantom Thread (Jonny Greenwood)
The Shape of Water (Alexandre Desplat)
Star Wars: The Last Jedi (John Williams)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Carter Burwell)

Best Visual Effects

Blade Runner 2049 – WINNER
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
Kong: Skull Island
Star Wars: The Last Jedi
War for the Planet of the Apes

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Darkest Hour – Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski & Lucy Sibbick – WINNER
Victoria and Abdul – Daniel Phillips & Lou Sheppard
Wonder – Arjen Tuiten

Written By